It’s National Homemade Bread Day!

This month, before you start thinking about what brand of turkey you want to buy or how much brown sugar to put on your sweet potatoes, why not get in your kitchen and try something a little more basic? Wednesday, November 17th is National Homemade Bread Day. Do you have a bread recipe that you’ve been dying to try out? Ever wanted to take a shot at making homemade bagels? Just curious about what goes into baking a basic, no frills loaf of bread? Now’s the perfect time to get in the kitchen and release your inner baker.

People have observed National Homemade Bread Day since the 1980s, when it was founded by the National Homemade Bread Committee (National Day Calendar, 2020). The Committee, which is based in Ann Arbor, MI, started the day as a way of bringing families together to bake (National Day Calendar, 2020).

If you’ve never made bread before, don’t worry. We’ve got a list of simple bread recipes just for you. And you can always follow along with me as I try baking the first entry from our list, the Easy Homemade Bread Recipe from Butter with a Side of Bread.

Easy Homemade Bread Recipe (from Butter with a Side of Bread): https://butterwithasideofbread.com/homemade-bread/, opens a new window

Banana Bread (from Simply Recipes): https://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/banana_bread/, opens a new window

Cranberry Orange Bread (from Allrecipes): https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/228118/cranberry-orange-bread/, opens a new window

Easy Zucchini Bread Recipe (from Oh So Delicioso): https://ohsodelicioso.com/easy-zucchini-bread/, opens a new window

Easy Homemade French Bread (from Mel’s Kitchen Café): https://www.melskitchencafe.com/french-bread/, opens a new window

Simple Challah Bread (from Life as a Strawberry): https://www.lifeasastrawberry.com/simplechallah-bread/, opens a new window

Fry Bread Recipe (from the Chickasaw Nation): https://www.chickasaw.net/Our-Nation/Culture/Foods/Fry-Bread-and-Fried-Pork-Paskawaalhaaki-,-Shokha.aspx, opens a new window

Homemade Bagels Recipe (from Sally’s Baking Addiction): https://sallysbakingaddiction.com/homemade-bagels/, opens a new window

Easy Gluten-Free Bread {Dairy-Free} (from Mama Knows Gluten Free): https://www.mamaknowsglutenfree.com/easy-gluten-free-bread/, opens a new window

Easy White Keto Bread Recipe (from Wholesome Yum): https://www.wholesomeyum.com/recipes/easy-paleo-keto-bread-recipe/, opens a new window

And while you're at it, why not check out some items on baking bread from our catalog?, opens a new window

References

Greer, A. (n.d.). [Untitled image of Mark Furstenberg]. Retrieved from https://www.bakefromscratch.com/mark-furstenberg-on-dark-crusted-bread/, opens a new window

Max Pixel (2016). Bread fresh flour breads croissant bakery [Image]. Retrieved from https://www.maxpixel.net/Bread-Fresh-Flour-Breads-Croissant-Bakery-6178818, opens a new window

National Day Calendar (2020, November 12). National Homemade Bread Day – November 17. Retrieved from https://nationaldaycalendar.com/national-homemade-bread-day-november-17/, opens a new window

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Fulton County Library System